50 Wise Quotes of Maya Angelou

Maya Angelou Quotes

1 – A wise woman wishes to be no one’s enemy; a wise woman  – refuses to be anyone’s victim.

2 – All great achievements require time.

3 – As you grow older, you will discover that you have two hands, one for helping yourself, the other for helping others.

4 – Ask for what you want, and be prepared to get it.

5 – At 50, I began to know who I was. It was like waking up to myself.

6 – Be present in all things, and thankful for all things.

7 – Courage is the most important of all virtues, because without courage, you cannot practice any of the other virtues consistently.

8 – Courage – you develop courage by doing small things like just as if you wouldn’t want to pick up a 100-pound weight without preparing yourself.

9 – Determine to live life with flair and laughter.

10 – Do the best you can until you know better. Then when you know better, do better.

11 – Don’t let the incidents which take place in life bring you low. And certainly don’t whine. You can be brought low, that’s OK, but don’t be reduced by them. Just say, “That’s life.”

12 – Each time a woman stands up for herself, she stands up for all women.

13 – Faith is the evidence of the unseen.

14 – Home is a refuge, not only from the world but a refuge from my worries, my terrible concerns. I like beautiful things around me. I like to be beautiful because it delights my eyes and my soul is lifted up.

15 – Hope and fear cannot occupy the same space at the same time. Invite one to stay.

16 – I am grateful to be a woman. I must have done something great in another life.

17 – I believe that every person is born with talent.

18 – I can be changed by what happens to me. But I refuse to be reduced by it.

19 – I created myself. I have taught myself so much.

20 – I know for sure that loves saves me and that it is here to save us all.

21 – I respect myself and insist upon it from everybody. And because I do it, I then respect everybody, too.

22 – I think a hero is any person really intent on making his a better place for all people.

23 – I work very hard, and I play very hard. I’m grateful for life. And I live it – I believe life loves the liver of it. I live it.

24 – I would like to be known as an intelligent woman, a courageous woman, a loving woman, a woman who teaches by being.

25 – I’ve learned that I still have a lot to learn.

26 – I’ve learned that making a living is not the same thing as making a life.

27 – If you’re a human being, you can attempt to do what other human beings have done. We don’t understand talent any more than we understand electricity.

28 – If you don’t like something, change it. If you can’t change it, change your attitude.

29 – If you find it in your heart to care for somebody else, you will have succeeded.

30 – If you have only one smile in you give it to the people you love.

31 – In all my work, in the movies I write, the lyrics, the poetry, the prose, the essays, I am saying that we may encounter many defeats – maybe it’s imperative that we encounter the defeats – but we are much stronger than we appear to be and maybe much better than we allow ourselves to be.

32 – It is time for parents to teach young people early on that in diversity there is beauty and there is strength.

33 – Life is not measured by the number of breaths you take but by the moments that take your breath away.

34 – Love is like a virus. It can happen to anybody at any time.

35 – Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.

36 – My great hope is to laugh as much as I cry; to get my work done, to try and love somebody and have the courage to accept the love in return.

37 – My mission in life is not to merely survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style.

38 – Nothing succeeds like success. Get a little success, and then just get a little more.

39 – Nothing will work unless you do.

40 – People will forget what you said. People will forget what you did. But people will never forget how you made them feel.

41 – Seek patience and passion in equal amounts. Patience alone will not build the temple. Passion alone will destroy its walls.

42 – Stand up straight and realize who you are. That you tower over your circumstances. You are a child of God. Stand up straight.

43 – The desire to reach for the stars is ambitious. The desire to reach hearts is wise.

44 – There’s a world of difference between truth and facts. Facts can obscure the truth.

45 – To grow up is to stop putting blame on parents

46 – Try to be a rainbow in someone’s cloud.

47 – We are only as blind as we want to be.

48 – We may encounter many defeats but we must not be defeated.

49 – We need joy as we need air. We need love as we need water. We need each other as we need the earth we share.

50 – Whatever you want to do, if you want to be great at it, you have to love it and be able to make sacrifices for it.

Ive-learned-that-I-still-have-a-lot-to-learn-Maya-Angelou-Quotes.jpg (450×317)

Maya_Angelou_Autograph.jpg (350×110)

Leave a comment