Monthly Archives: March 2015

International System of Units (SI) Chart

How many base units are in the SI system ? = 7

The International System of Units is the modern form of the metric system and is the world’s most widely used system of measurement, used in both commerce and science. It comprises a coherent system of units of measurement built on seven base units.

MeterKilogram SecondAmpereKelvinCandela Mole

International System of Units SI

International System of Units

SI Globe logo

Top 10 Rarest Gemstones in the World

Ten Rarest and Most Valuable Gemstones in the World

  1. Pink Star Diamond –  South Africa
  2. Painite – Myanmar
  3. Musgravite – Australia, Greenland, Antarctica, Sri Lanka, Madagascar, and Tanzania.
  4. Jadeite – Myanmar
  5. Alexandrite – Russia’s Ural Mountains, Brazil, East Africa and Sri Lanka
  6. Red Beryl – Utah & New Mexico of United States
  7. Benitoite – California
  8. Black Opal – Australia
  9. Taaffeite – Sri Lanka and Tanzania
  10. Tanzanite – Foothills of Mount Kilimanjaro, Northern Tanzania

Pink Star DiamondPink Star Diamond auctioned for record $83 million at Sotheby’s on November 13, 2013.

Painite                 Musgravite           Jadeite

Alexandrite  Beryl Red Emerald  Benitoite

Black Opal

Taaffeite                                                                 Tanzanite

Top 10 Largest Deserts in the World

Deserts of World MapTop Ten World Largest Deserts

  Antarctic-Desert              Arctic Desert, ArcticAntarctic Desert, Antarctica  ———————————–  Arctic Desert, Arctic

Sahara, Africa   Sahara Desert, Africa

Arabian Desert, Middle East       Gobi Desert, Asia Arabian Desert, Middle East  ———————————  Gobi Desert, Asia

Kalahari Desert       Patagonian Desert, South AmericaKalahari Desert, Africa —————————–  Patagonian Desert, South America

Great Victoria Desert, AustraliaGreat Victoria Desert, Australia

Syrian Desert, Middle East      Great Bassin Desert, North America      Syrian Desert, Middle East —————————– Great Basin Desert, North America

Why Do Earthquakes Occur ?

Deformation of Rocks

  • An earthquake is the sudden shaking of the earth surface.
  • Earthquakes are caused by movement of the Earth’s tectonic plates, and by rupture of geological faults.
  • There are 4 types of faults : Normal Fault – Oblique Fault – Reverse Fault –  Strike-Slip Fault.
  • Seismic waves are waves of energy that travel through the earth, and 3 types of seismic waves : Primary Wave, Secondary Wave, and Surface Wave.


Drop ! Cover ! Hold On !

4 Types of Faults

Earthquakes - Types of Faults

Tectonic Plates and Fault Line

What Are Seismic Waves

Seismic Waves Types

Measuring Earthquakes

Lewis and Clark Expedition : Quiz – Timeline – Map

What is the purpose of Lewis and Clark expedition ?

  • Who commissioned the Lewis and Clark expedition ? = President Thomas Jefferson after the Louisiana Purchase in 1803.
  • What was Lewis and Clark’s expedition called ? = Corps of Discovery
  • Why did Captain Meriwether Lewis and Lieutenant William Clark go on the expedition ? = Thomas Jefferson wanted to explore the Louisiana Purchase and the Pacific Northwest
  • When did Lewis and Clark set out on their expedition ? = 1804
  • Who guided Lewis and Clark ? = Sacagawea (1788-1812) was a Lemhi Shoshone 
  • How much did Lewis and Clark’s expedition cost ? =  $ 39,000
  • What names did they give to the Three Forks of the Missouri RIver ? = Jefferson, Gallatin, and Madison.

Lewis and Clark Expedion old map

Meriwether Lewis and William Clark                    Sacagawea

Lewis and Clark and Sacawagea

Lewis & Clark's Route

Lewis and Clark Expedition- Timeline 1804-1806

Lewis and Clark Expedition Discoveries

Lewis and Clark Expedition Journals

Sacawagea Monument, South Dakota



Who discovered Machu Picchu ?

Hiram Bingham

  • Machu Picchu is a 15th-century Inca site located in the Andes mountain range of Peru.
  • It is called the Lost City of the Incas because it was built by the Inca’s civilization (Tahuantinsuyo Empire). All the Incan city were partly of fully destroyed by Spaniards.
  • Machu Picchu is one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World.
  • Hiram Bingham (1875-1956) the explorer discovered Machu Picchu in 1911, and he named it as lost city, because he thought this city was the last capital of Inca “Vilcabamba the Old”.

Machu Picchu

Hiram Bingham the Explorer of Machu Picchu

Hiram Bingham at Machu Picchu

Machu Picchu Map

Machu Picchu and Llama

What is Machu Picchu