Spanish Alphabet

Spanish Alphabet, Language, Pronunciation and Facts

  • Spanish alphabet has 27 letters. In 1994, the Royal Spanish Academy removed two letters (ch and ll) from the the alphabet, making it 27 letters instead of 29.
  • Spanish first started to appear in writing in the form of notes and glosses in Latin religious texts, the Glosas Emilianenses, dating from the 11th century. During the 12th century, law codes (Fueros) were being translated into Spanish.
  • The Spanish language is written using the Latin alphabet, along with a few special characters : the vowels with an acute accent (a, e, i, o, u), the vowel u with diaeresis, and n.
  • Spanish is the third most spoken language in the world.

Spanish Alphabet & Pronunciation

Spanish Alphabet and Pronunciation

Spanish Speaking Countries

Spanish Language World Map

Spanish Greetings

Basic Spanish Vocabulary Words

Spanish Language Facts


2 thoughts on “Spanish Alphabet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s