Antarctica Treaty

Who claims Antarctica ?

  • Antarctica Treaty was signed in Washington on 1 December 1959 by the twelve countries.
  • The Treaty promotes Antarctica as a place to undertake important scientific research.
  • It was agreed to set aside Antarctica as scientific reserve, and suspended all future territorial claims in order to focus on research.
  • The Treaty has 14 articles for dedication to peace and science.

Antarctica Map

Antarctica Panorama

Antarctica Treaty document          Antarctica - Territory Claims

Treaty Rules

Antarctica Flag   Antarctica Language


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s